This is Schengen visa fees in Nigeria for your information. Schengen visa is the required visa for traveling into the Schengen zone which comprises more than 20 European countries. These countries have decided to offer mutual benefits to one another in terms of travel freedom. As such, a citizen of a particular Schengen country can travel into another Schengen country without visa requirements. In other words, Schengen is an idea that seeks to remove the barriers to free movements among member states. In this regard it’s important to know the current Schengen visa fees in Nigeria. 

Schengen visa fees in Nigeria

As stated previously, the Schengen zone incorporates over 20 countries which all belong to the European Union.  Below is a list of the countries in the Schengen zone.

  • Iceland
  • Belgium
  • Germany
  • Austria
  • Italy
  • Hungary
  • Greece
  • Lithuania
  • Latvia
  • Spain
  • Czech Republic
  • Malta
  • Sweden
  • Luxembourg
  • Netherlands
  • Denmark
  • Portugal
  • Switzerland
  • Estonia
  • Norway
  • Slovakia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Slovenia
  • Poland
  • France
  • Finland

If you’re not holding citizenship or passport of any of Schengen countries, you won’t be able to travel into the Schengen zone except with a Schengen visa. If you’re a Nigerian, you must obtain a visa to enter a Schengen country and in a case you would like to transit through Schengen countries, you’ll have to obtain a Transit Visa as well.

Schengen Visa Types

Like many other visas, the Schengen visa comes in various types. Below are the three basic types of Schengen visa.

Limited Territory Visa (LTV)

As the name implies, Limited Territory Visa only allows you entry into the Schengen country that issued your visa.

National Visa

Most times, this type of visa is issued to people entering the Schengen area for employment or study. However at times, it could be issued to those applying for permanent residency.

Uniform Schengen Visa (SUV)

Unlike the Limited Territory Visa, SUV is the Schengen visa type that guarantees unrestricted movement within the Schengen zone. Basically, it grants its holders unrestricted access to all the 26 countries within the Schengen zone. However, the access is only valid for the maximum of 90 days within every period of 180 days from the date of first entry.

The Uniform Schengen Visa (SUV) is subdivided into three visa categories namely Category A, Category B and Category C.

Category A: This category involves the Airport Transit Visa which doesn’t grant entry into the country

Category B: This category involves the Transit Visa which allows its holders to enter more than one Schengen country. However, the stay period is restricted to the maximum of 5 days

Category C: This category involves the Short-Term Visa which allows it holders to enter the Schengen state and stay only for the validity period stipulated for the visa. Meanwhile, this visa category is further split into;

Single Entry: This allows you entry only once within the validity period of your visa

Double Entry: This allows you entry only two times within the validity period of your visa

Multiple Entries: Going by this visa sub-category, you’re allowed to enter as many times as you wish during the validity of your visa

Important Things to Bear in Mind while Applying a Schengen Visa

Regarding the fact that the Schengen zone consists of various countries and the Schengen visa comes in different types, below are some of the important things to bear in mind while applying the Schengen visa.

  • You’re required to obtain the visa for your main destination if you’re planning to travel to more than one Schengen country
  • In an instance where you’re traveling to only one out of the 26 Schengen countries, it is compulsory that you apply for your visa in the embassy of your chosen country. If, for example, Finland is the only Schengen country you’re visiting, you must apply for your visa in the Finnish embassy
  • If the Schengen country you’re traveling into has no embassy in Nigeria, you’re required to contact the representatives of its embassy/consulate. On behalf of consulates/embassies, most representatives are usually authorized to issue visas
  • If you want to explore the Schengen area without having a particular country as your main destination, you’ll need a random Schengen visa that will grant you access into any of the countries within the Schengen zone. But importantly, your visa application must be done in the country/embassy you’ll first arrive in during your trip

Visa Extension

After obtaining the Schengen visa and securing entry into any of the countries in the Schengen zone, bear in mind that your stay in the country is restricted to the maximum of 3 months –alternatively a period of 90 days. But if you have a justifiable reason (probably involving marriage, study, work or medical) for prolonging your stay, you’ll be allowed to apply for visa extension.

For visa extension, you’re required to visit the immigration department of the Schengen country you’re currently in. Importantly, you must go along with the documents required for extending your stay.

Schengen Visa Application Fees

As a Nigerian, you’ll be required to pay a certain fee to apply for the Schengen visa. Meanwhile, the amount you pay for the visa application depends on the type of visa you’re choosing. You must pay this fee to obtain the visa and before you proceed, bear in mind that it’s possible that you could be denied the visa application and if this happens, your money will not be refunded to you.

The Schengen visa fee is usually 60 euros and due to the changes in exchange rates between naira and euro, you may have to check out an updated list of exchange rates to know how much your Schengen visa fee is up to in naira.


These are the Schengen visa fees in Nigeria currently

Short-term visas  (maximum of 90 days stay) for adults:  60 Euros

Short-term visas for children  (between 0 – 6 years) free

Short-term visas for children  (between 6 – 12 years   35 Euros



Schengen Visa 10,950 Naira

Courier fee (Lagos Applicants only 10,950 Naira

Important notice on Schengen visa fees in Nigeria:

1. The application fees is payable only at the time of submission of documents  at the Visa Application Centre.

2. Naira currency below 500 is not acceptable

3. Go with the exact amount because most of the centers doesn’t give change.

4. The Schengen visa fees in Nigeria and  service charges are non-refundable and non-transferable


In conclusion, you’re advised to provide all the required documents and go through the necessary procedures that will qualify you for the Schengen visa. This advice is worthwhile simply because the fee for Schengen visa application is not refundable. Whether you succeed with the visa application or not, the Schengen immigration authorities will not refund your money to you.


If you intend travelling to any of the above mentioned Schengen zone, please note that most of their embassies are now operating currently, unlike what happened in recent time when most of the stopped operations due to coronavirus pandemic that ravaged the world. However,  before setting out, be sure you make proper enquiries and get the right information on the current happenings in that country you intend travelling to.

If you arrange your Visa make sure you do all the necessary tests and obtain the papers before travelling.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *